Skip to content

I saw God in Chicago last fall

November 18, 2009

“In my own flesh shall I see God.”

The Book of Job, chapter 19, verse 26

A message board I hang out at has a discussion going this week, on how people perceive and/or envision God, and about being left-handed and having perfect pitch (the conversations there meander, as a rule).

The person who started the thread asked the question of believers, which meant I felt somewhat constrained in how I could participate.  I was raised by a family for whom faith was a mainstay of daily life, but that was years ago: while apples may not fall far from the tree, on occasion they roll a bit, find a nearby stream to float down, and end up washing ashore years later on a different continent altogether.

Complicating my desire to respond was the fact that I saw God in Chicago last fall.  A number of friends and acquaintances from the aforementioned message board and others gathered there, along with my wife and me, to converse in person.  We like to remind ourselves now and again of each others’ physical existence.  Old school, I know.

Some of the group went on an Expedition to acquire useful things: shoes, candied ginger, fond memories.  We headed downtown from Evanston, where we had established our base camp.  After shopping and chatting and walking, we found ourselves in Millennium Park.  That’s where I saw God:

Some of you may mistake this for a flippant moment.  No.  I had achieved insight.

And God said, Let us make man in our image, after our likeness

The Book of Genesis, chapter 1, verse 26.

We are reflections of God, and thus he is a reflection of us.

A somewhat larger, slightly distorted reflection, but a reflection nonetheless.  Or to be more precise: God is a mirror in which we see ourselves thus reflected.  (Some mirrors, of course, are more flattering than others.)

The Cloud Gate, aka the Bean,  is truly Godlike though, in that it reflects all who see it, no matter how they approach it, from what angle, day or night, red and yellow, black and white.  Also, just like the idea of God, the Bean exerts a magnetic pull on anyone around it.  You see it, and you want to be closer to it, until it fills your perspective.   I watched it happen to the crowds around me.  I felt the pull myself, drawn closer, closer, until I could touch it.

I touched God when I touched my own reflection.  And then I took God’s picture, to help me remember the moment.

I noticed a lot of other people around me taking God’s picture as well, except I’m pretty sure theirs don’t look at all like mine.  Funny.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Stephanie permalink
    December 20, 2009 12:21 pm

    Just as I thought, God shops at Nordstroms.

Leave a Reply

Singing Stars & Shrieking Shadows

Stories and poetry of awe and horror, with reviews and commentary

Nicky Peacock - Author

Published author of YA and adult paranormal romance, horror, urban fantasy short stories, novellas and novels. On this site you'll find writing advice, information on my work, book reviews, author interviews and more...

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

SouthernHerf

it's all just a matter of perspective...

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Knite Writes

The Official Blog of Therin Knite

Buried Under Books

Tales of a former indie bookseller

Mary Robinette Kowal

The daily journal of a puppeteer and SF author.

Renea Mason

Visit http://reneamason.com for the latest info on Renea Mason

Words, Words, Words

Come write, and be inspired...

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Eat, Sleep, Television

Watch as I amaze and astound with opinions about what TV shows I like!

tincantheory

ull new transflations -- Rosetta Stone hypothoses

