Skip to content

Seventeen

August 26, 2012

As I adjusted the straps on my son’s lacrosse helmet, I mused on how familiar the activity felt. The shoulder protectors atop the rib pads moved like pauldrons. The gloves would have been legal hand protection a mere twenty-five years ago. Some of the elbows offered might be legal today, if you covered them. And a stick is a stick, whether it has a thrusting tip or a net on the end.

From their website: “The Society for Creative Anachronism is an international organization dedicated to researching and re-creating the arts and skills of pre-17th-century Europe. Our “Known World” consists of 19 kingdoms, with over 30,000 members residing in countries around the world. Members, dressed in clothing of the Middle Ages and Renaissance, attend events which feature tournaments, royal courts, feasts, dancing, various classes & workshops, and more.”

From me: There is much hitting of friends in armor with sticks, like lacrosse, but the SCA has two fewer goals.

For seventeen years, I was active in the SCA. I joined not too long after I turned seventeen. Now I have been out that long, my life divided into neat, prime-number thirds: before, during, after. That model is about to break down, as I embark on the fourth septendecennial, another locust life, another patent term (though the only patent I hold is on a scroll) ending only when I am old enough for full Social Security benefits.

I must reframe. Act IV, Scene 1? (The curtain rises to reveal THE WRITER at his keyboard, taking a moment to ruminate between revisions and errands for the day. Stacks of paper on one side of the desk compete for space with a printer on the other. He beings to type.)

Or not. Writing is, on the whole, not a dramatic pursuit. The conflict on the page is not reflected in the action creating it: typing out a scene of planetary apocalypse looks ever so much like typing a grocery list.

I must consider further, after I return from the store with bread and yogurt. My son, in the meantime, gets to practice running around in armor. He has another eight years to go on his first seventeen.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jet permalink
    August 26, 2012 2:20 pm

    My brother was active in SCA and I used to follow him to gatherings. I even learned how to wield a broad sword. You’re right, not that different from editing.

Leave a Reply

Singing Stars & Shrieking Shadows

Stories and poetry of awe and horror, with reviews and commentary

Nicky Peacock - Author

Published author of YA and adult paranormal romance, horror, urban fantasy short stories, novellas and novels. On this site you'll find writing advice, information on my work, book reviews, author interviews and more...

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

SouthernHerf

it's all just a matter of perspective...

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Knite Writes

The Official Blog of Therin Knite

Buried Under Books

Tales of a former indie bookseller

Mary Robinette Kowal

The daily journal of a puppeteer and SF author.

Renea Mason

Visit http://reneamason.com for the latest info on Renea Mason

Words, Words, Words

Come write, and be inspired...

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Eat, Sleep, Television

Watch as I amaze and astound with opinions about what TV shows I like!

tincantheory

ull new transflations -- Rosetta Stone hypothoses

