Skip to content

Titles are good things–wish I’d remembered that before I posted this the first time

September 9, 2012

Sullins/Bailey family cemetery, Franklin Co. MO

So I was out at my wife’s property today, helping to carve up a hackberry tree that fell across the access road. The occasion let me revisit the proxy for one of the locations in the first faerie novel, the one I’ve almost finished revising. Above is a cemetery similar to the one where Ray takes on three gun-toting faeries. Below, the cabin on the property, which would be on fire were it the one in the novel, with several dead faeries scattered around it.

Hard to see the attic window in the back, but it’s there.

The shack that’s an analog to the one in the novel where the last firefight takes place is below, in roughly the condition it would be after said battle. The scale model steam tractor we gave to a collector several years ago.

The woodshed. Soon this will be demolished and the wood carted away for various projects.

Anyway: I spent the day there instead of writing, but I’m plowing through the last bits of the revision tonight, filling in a few gaps I thought of while sawing and hoisting.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandra Murphy permalink
    September 9, 2012 11:05 pm

    I think I see scorch marks on the cabin. I think I know someone who would like to have the wood from the shed if it’s up for grabs. Glad you had a nice day – think up any more plots for Ray while communing with nature?

    • September 10, 2012 6:08 am

      I have notes for another novel and notions past that, but have to sell the first one first.

      Right now the wood is going to two people for two different projects, one of which is a RenFaire booth, but I don’t have precise dimensional desires. They may take all the usable boards or not; I’ll let you know when I find out.

  2. September 13, 2012 6:40 pm

    Camp fire for Wutaites?

  3. September 13, 2012 6:47 pm

    These pictures remind me some property my grandparents owned just outside of Fredricktown which butted up to the Mark Twain National Forest. I really miss it. The evil aunt inherited it so I haven’t been there since before 1996. I loved doing DAY trips there. I even used it for a scene in my book Twenty Weeks.

    The house on the property was originally three rooms. My grandfather kept adding onto it until it became two stories, with 4 bedrooms. Interesting and fun.

Leave a Reply

Singing Stars & Shrieking Shadows

Stories and poetry of awe and horror, with reviews and commentary

Nicky Peacock - Author

Published author of YA and adult paranormal romance, horror, urban fantasy short stories, novellas and novels. On this site you'll find writing advice, information on my work, book reviews, author interviews and more...

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

SouthernHerf

it's all just a matter of perspective...

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Knite Writes

The Official Blog of Therin Knite

Buried Under Books

Tales of a former indie bookseller

Mary Robinette Kowal

The daily journal of a puppeteer and SF author.

Renea Mason

Author of Contemporary and Paranormal Erotic Romance Books - Love Undefined

Words, Words, Words

Write, read, repeat.

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Eat, Sleep, Television

Watch as I amaze and astound with opinions about what TV shows I like!

tincantheory

ull new transflations -- Rosetta Stone hypothoses

