Skip to content

Step by step; welcome to my planning page

September 23, 2012

Finished running the R & R through AutoCrit today. Made a couple of minor plot fixes on the fly to respond to notes I had, and pondering whether one more is necessary or merely desirable.

My lovely wife finished her review of the italics purge to the ghost novel, so after I get copies of the R & R of the faerie novel out to a handful of people, that will be the next project. Then, once the prospective agent is back in gear in about three weeks, pass him the R & R, and back to the SF colonization one, which…will take a while. So that (and Archon) fills out October, although somewhere in there we tear down the old shed out at my wife’s cabin (see pictures a few weeks back).

Job security, so to speak. November also brings a possible trip to Canada, leading a SLAG discussion on online resources for market research (a.k.a. Query Tracker and Duotrope), and…oh yeah, Thanksgiving. Deer season too.

Spent some time watching my son’s lacrosse practice. He started last Sunday, and I planned on digging out my old ball glove to help him to drills at home, but since I couldn’t find it I ended up buying a lacrosse stick myself. The entry level ones are cheaper than ball gloves these days. I’m enjoying going down to the subdivision they bought out and leveled next door to ours to drill with him. It’s like keep away with sticks. And boy, those little balls are dense. He’s armored up like a Transformer and I’m just wearing vaguely protective shades and work gloves. I’ll put a picture up of him soon in his gear.

But back to the R & R–for the longest time I felt adrift in it, since I layered stuff on in pieces. I had to rely on the existing structure to ensure it stayed cohesive while I worked on the additions. Now, with everything in place, going through it a chapter at a time with AutoCrit has proven reassuring. It flows differently than it did–making it 60% longer can do that–but it flows. I like the expanded characters. They’re load-bearing, but they’re still fun. With luck my readers will agree.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Singing Stars & Shrieking Shadows

Stories and poetry of awe and horror, with reviews and commentary

Nicky Peacock - Author

Published author of YA and adult paranormal romance, horror, urban fantasy short stories, novellas and novels. On this site you'll find writing advice, information on my work, book reviews, author interviews and more...

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

SouthernHerf

it's all just a matter of perspective...

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Knite Writes

The Official Blog of Therin Knite

Buried Under Books

Tales of a former indie bookseller

Mary Robinette Kowal

The daily journal of a puppeteer and SF author.

Renea Mason

Author of Contemporary and Paranormal Erotic Romance Books - Love Undefined

Words, Words, Words

Write, read, repeat.

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Eat, Sleep, Television

Watch as I amaze and astound with opinions about what TV shows I like!

tincantheory

ull new transflations -- Rosetta Stone hypothoses

