Skip to content

Everybody’s workin’ on the weekend

February 11, 2013
This is sooo cool. You will see why.

This is sooo cool. You will see why.

With apologies to Lover Boy.

Insanely productive writing weekend, even though much of it came in bits and scraps. 2000-2500 words on the WIP, finally getting to a major plot crux I’ve been steering toward since page one (and it’s over 30k now). But wait, there’s more! A few hundred words to start off a horror short, another short story idea from a three second snippet I caught off the radio, and (circling back) plot details for the balance of the WIP snapping into place.

Also, read big chunks of Kristin Lavransdotter. I might finish it. Poor Kristin, poster child for the law of unintended consequences. Need to clear the reading deck for some in-genre research, an area in which I always feel woefully behind. Reason: four things, apart from sleep, require time and energy in my life:

1) Family
2) Day job
3) Writing
4) Reading

and I usually only have time for three. So I coast on the stacks of books I’ve already read too much, because it’s the only one of the three that permits coasting. Suboptimal, but necessary. Schedule triage.

I ordered the pieces for my new stand-up sit-down write-write-write desk as well: a slab of unfinished poplar for the desk top and the hydraulic bit that will hold the keyboard, my laptop, and the monitor for the desktop at whatever height I choose, hobbit to troll. Trying to decide between poly and paint for the slab. Also trying to decide on what to do with the big piece of tempered glass…oh well duh, we were thinking about a new coffee table. Tada! Five feet by two feet is a little big, though. Hmm. Maybe a console table. At any rate, I will no longer be a slumping blob with magic dancing fingers for ten-twelve hours a day. I will be a standing blob with magic dancing fingers some of those hours.

Pencilhog? Porcupen? Whatever you call it, it's the best kid-made gift in the history of my kid.

Pencilhog? Porcupen? Whatever you call it, it’s the best kid-made gift in the history of my kid.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Singing Stars & Shrieking Shadows

Stories and poetry of awe and horror, with reviews and commentary

Nicky Peacock - Author

Published author of YA and adult paranormal romance, horror, urban fantasy short stories, novellas and novels. On this site you'll find writing advice, information on my work, book reviews, author interviews and more...

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

SouthernHerf

it's all just a matter of perspective...

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Knite Writes

The Official Blog of Therin Knite

Buried Under Books

Tales of a former indie bookseller

Mary Robinette Kowal

The daily journal of a puppeteer and SF author.

Renea Mason

Author of Contemporary and Paranormal Erotic Romance Books - Love Undefined

Words, Words, Words

Write, read, repeat.

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Eat, Sleep, Television

Watch as I amaze and astound with opinions about what TV shows I like!

tincantheory

ull new transflations -- Rosetta Stone hypothoses

