Skip to content

Discoveries

August 11, 2013

I practically memorized this sucker. A great read whether you have ten minutes or all day.

I practically memorized this sucker. A great read whether you have ten minutes or all day.

My wife has evidently owned a hardback version of a favorite book of mine for years. As in before we were married years. (Katharine Briggs’s An Encyclopedia of Faeries, for the curious.) I just noticed it on the bookshelf yesterday.

And people wonder why we get along so well.

In other news: WIP still IP. Exploiting an unforeseen moment for fun and mayhem in the current chapter.

After four days of trying and failing to build up the energy to submit hard copy of a short to a Luddite SF market, I decided to sub it to a few more 21st century places instead.

Read Gaiman’s latest fable. Allowing it to settle. I need to review it and a couple of Chuck Wendig books under my Goodreads pseudonym.

As I wrote this, my tinnitus cranked up for no apparent reason. Maybe a potassium tablet will help.

Also–a round of applause and/or drinks for Writers under the Arch, who hammered the last bit of WIP I read them into something finer and funnier this week.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2013 3:20 pm

    I have tinnitus too. Didn’t know potassium could help. I’ll put a banana in each ear.

    • August 12, 2013 7:12 am

      I’m not sure it does help, honestly…but so long as I don’t get crazy with it I don’t think it hurts.

      The second ear doctor mentioned he suspected an issue with the sodium/potassium balance in the inner ear fluid (hydrops) about which they can do diddly directly. Since I know I have a reaction to large amounts of sodium in food, I have the potassium handy anyway.

Leave a Reply

Singing Stars & Shrieking Shadows

Stories and poetry of awe and horror, with reviews and commentary

Nicky Peacock - Author

Published author of YA and adult paranormal romance, horror, urban fantasy short stories, novellas and novels. On this site you'll find writing advice, information on my work, book reviews, author interviews and more...

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

SouthernHerf

it's all just a matter of perspective...

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Knite Writes

The Official Blog of Therin Knite

Buried Under Books

Tales of a former indie bookseller

Mary Robinette Kowal

The daily journal of a puppeteer and SF author.

Renea Mason

Author of Contemporary and Paranormal Erotic Romance Books - Love Undefined

Words, Words, Words

Write, read, repeat.

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Eat, Sleep, Television

Watch as I amaze and astound with opinions about what TV shows I like!

tincantheory

ull new transflations -- Rosetta Stone hypothoses

