Skip to content

In Space, You Don’t Need a Silencer

October 10, 2013

The anthology cover, in all its toes-up glory

The anthology cover, in all its toes-up glory

Moon Shot: Murder and Mayhem on the Edge of Space is out now, at Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and especially at the Untreed Reads Store (where you can get Kindle, .epub, or .pdf versions, and the contributors get higher royalties, hinthint).

Go have a look. I’ll wait.

Back? Cool. I hope you enjoy both my offering and those of the other contributors. The concept struck a chord with me, as I suspect it did everyone else involved.

In other related news: WUTA and I made some people happy at Archon 37 this weekend, slinging root beer and absinthe (not together, eww). The one thing I’d like to improve for next year is the ambiance. I love room parties too, but the party room row isn’t exactly conducive to salon-style conversation, you know? Ideally I’d love to have four or five small tables for people to sip and snack and chat, if they’d like, before returning to the party fray. The only question is where and when that could happen within the larger Archon “con”text…research forthcoming.

He got better goggles and his own leather helmet later. And a jet pack. Lucky kid.

He got better goggles and his own leather helmet later. And a jet pack. Lucky kid.

Kian had a good time at his first con. Legos, duct tape armor, the FIRST Robotic Challenge team from Hazelwood…and lots of “Dad, look at that armor/costume/character.” For some strange reason steampunk stuff appeals to a ten-year old boy with a mechanical inclination, go figure. I may have to write that dieselpunk story that’s rolling around in my head sooner rather than later.

Speaking of writing, still happy with the current ending on the WIP, but not with how it looked on paper–until last night, when one of those obvious writer fixes slapped me upside the head. I was driving to a friend’s house at the time, so it didn’t slap me hard, thank goodness; still, one treasures those little epiphanies even when they’re things you should have thought of in the first place. Or maybe this time my brain sorted it out so the story bits came first and the delivery second. Whatever. I just know I’m glad to be able to devote more neurons to writing–I loved Archon and I loved getting stuff ready for it, but every hour I spent working on the display or the logistics was an hour I wasn’t finishing the WIP. I have a month to finish the draft and make it cohesive enough for WUTA Big Books: enough time, but one always wants to be a little further along…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Singing Stars & Shrieking Shadows

Stories and poetry of awe and horror, with reviews and commentary

Nicky Peacock - Author

Published author of YA and adult paranormal romance, horror, urban fantasy short stories, novellas and novels. On this site you'll find writing advice, information on my work, book reviews, author interviews and more...

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

SouthernHerf

it's all just a matter of perspective...

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Knite Writes

The Official Blog of Therin Knite

Buried Under Books

Tales of a former indie bookseller

Mary Robinette Kowal

The daily journal of a puppeteer and SF author.

Renea Mason

Visit http://reneamason.com for the latest info on Renea Mason

Words, Words, Words

Come write, and be inspired...

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Eat, Sleep, Television

Watch as I amaze and astound with opinions about what TV shows I like!

tincantheory

ull new transflations -- Rosetta Stone hypothoses

