Skip to content

Goals

February 6, 2014

Image

I’ve resisted hard word count goals since the first, last and only time I did NaNoWriMo a decade or more ago. (Nothing wrong with NNWM, by the way, it just did what it needed to do–prove to me I could perform acts of sustained writing.) Anyway, a few weeks back the topic of the monthly whole-book queue for the rest of the year came up at WUTA, and I did a quick estimation of how long it would take me to do a clean draft of the WIP. “Put me down for August” is what I said.

Then I went back and figured out what I’d need to average in terms of weekly output to produce a clean 90K word draft so before the end of July. Answer: 3000 words. About 430 words a day, not that my output is that regular: traditionally about half of my word count comes on weekends, because I have longer blocks of time available then.

And yet. Over the last few weeks, I’ve gotten better at hitting that daily non-target, plus or minus 10%, on weekdays. Just having a number hovering there, a number I’m trying to not think about, has an effect. Even on Tuesdays, when I’m slicing words out of a piece before it goes to the writers’ group for incremental review, I can still net close to 400 words, which means I’m actually writing 600 or more.

The only reason I can come up with is that my brain responds to having set goals by pacing itself to reach those goals. Within reason; a NaNoWriMo 1800 word a day pace may have worked once, before the son. With a kid, and the same day job (for which I am stupendously grateful), and a desire to keep my wife reasonably happy? Not so much.

It helps that I’m writing in my wheelhouse again, funked-up noirish mystery, or as Jaye Wells so aptly describes it, Speculative Crime Fiction. I enjoyed writing the SF novel, but there’s a reason they call it HARD science fiction. It took me a week of fiddling with a orbital motion simulator to convince myself the original ending just didn’t smell right…by contrast the greatest tangential distraction on the WIP has been writing a brief synopsis of Act I of a non-existent Beethoven opera on the great slave revolt of 1815. That only took an hour or so.

I didn’t bother with Act II, since I just figured everyone died.

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Singing Stars & Shrieking Shadows

Stories and poetry of awe and horror, with reviews and commentary

Nicky Peacock - Author

Published author of YA and adult paranormal romance, horror, urban fantasy short stories, novellas and novels. On this site you'll find writing advice, information on my work, book reviews, author interviews and more...

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

SouthernHerf

it's all just a matter of perspective...

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Knite Writes

The Official Blog of Therin Knite

Buried Under Books

Tales of a former indie bookseller

Mary Robinette Kowal

The daily journal of a puppeteer and SF author.

Renea Mason

Visit http://reneamason.com for the latest info on Renea Mason

Words, Words, Words

Come write, and be inspired...

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Eat, Sleep, Television

Watch as I amaze and astound with opinions about what TV shows I like!

tincantheory

ull new transflations -- Rosetta Stone hypothoses

