Skip to content

Back in the Groove

December 24, 2014

With FLL done for the year, I’ve been *writing* again, and thinking about the next big project, and how I want to approach it. I did a short story that’s YA-ish, I think; I mean, it’s got a YA protagonist who goes through something nasty and has to figure out how to cope. I’ve pushed the sentence length down and limited the vocabulary (but not too much, the kid’s smart).

What’s interesting to me is that, while YA is HUGE in novels, Duotrope indicates the paying short story market is almost vestigial: Cicada (the older manifestation of Cricket) is the only “classic” periodical. There’s an online market that does one story a month, what looks like an upcoming anthology, annnnnd another one I forget. Four pro/semi-pro markets. Now, it may well be that stuff crosses over in the genre markets, but the possibility that the YA audience doesn’t read shorts is very real as well.

That’s not really why I wrote the story, though. I had two reasons: one, I promised my son I would write *something* he could read; two, I wanted to test a YA iteration of my voice. I’m not sure if it really succeeds on the first count, since the result is really YA and *not* Middle Grade–it’s going to be a year or two before I’m comfortable with Kian reading it, which is probably more my issue than his, but so be it.

As for the second count, we’ll see. I may be able to submit to more generic markets as well, and there are a lot more of those.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandy permalink
    December 25, 2014 5:23 pm

    You must have missed the email I sent to WUTA? Intrigue Publishing is looking for short YA stories. Deadline March. Details on the site.

    • December 25, 2014 9:33 pm

      Nope, I saw it, read it, thought “I don’t write YA” and moved on. The fact that I was in the middle of writing a YA story is neither here nor there. 😛

Trackbacks

  1. Diss me, bloggers, for I have sinned | Merciless Idioms

Leave a Reply

Singing Stars & Shrieking Shadows

Stories and poetry of awe and horror, with reviews and commentary

Nicky Peacock - Author

Published author of YA and adult paranormal romance, horror, urban fantasy short stories, novellas and novels. On this site you'll find writing advice, information on my work, book reviews, author interviews and more...

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

SouthernHerf

it's all just a matter of perspective...

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Knite Writes

The Official Blog of Therin Knite

Buried Under Books

Tales of a former indie bookseller

Mary Robinette Kowal

The daily journal of a puppeteer and SF author.

Renea Mason

Author of Contemporary and Paranormal Erotic Romance Books - Love Undefined

Words, Words, Words

Write, read, repeat.

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Eat, Sleep, Television

Watch as I amaze and astound with opinions about what TV shows I like!

tincantheory

ull new transflations -- Rosetta Stone hypothoses

