Skip to content

Play and Work

January 25, 2015

So my experiment of the month(s), using Chuck Wendig’s idea to write a screenplay as an outline for a putative MG/YA novel, seems to be working. I’m more or less halfway in and I’m having…dare I say the word…fun.

Writing in a different context, for a different medium, is in itself liberating, but the actual keystroke-to-keystroke activity feels, as Wendig says it would, more like play than work. Even at their best, novels always feel like work. Rewarding work, but work. And outlining a novel? Right up there with filling in time sheets three different ways for three different parts of the company who refuse to compare notes.

Ask me again when I start the transition. I am glad I warmed up a bit with the short I mentioned last time.

In other news: my wife and I celebrated our fifteenth anniversary a couple of weeks ago by eating at a Nice Restaurant (okay, Niche); we followed up by going to a Symphony concert (this time with the boy) Friday night. I feel almost human again after oddly disconnected (for me) holidays.

Reviews:

Niche: Out of seven offerings (two cocktails, a “snack” and the four courses comprising dinner), six were between top-notch and eye-opening, with only the dessert not quite coming together for me. The barrel-aged Negroni sticks with me even now, as does the care they take to vary mouth-feel and texture within each dish, such that every bite is a little bit different.

Symphony: All Beethoven, but not the usual suspects. A trombone quartet (an equali, if you’re a stickler), the Eighth Symphony (a much more complex work than I remember) and his under-performed C Maj Mass. David Robertson’s conducting was beyond energetic, and the performance followed suit, though never at the expense of precision or emotive power. The balance between the soloists, orchestra and chorus in the Mass wasn’t always quite where I expected–the soloists seemed a trifle restrained–but the chorus was in excellent form. As I’m not familiar with the Mass, it may be the music is just like that.

Current reads: Revisiting Ambrose Bierce’s The Devil’s Dictionary.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Alison permalink
    January 25, 2015 2:03 pm

    The next time I write a novel, I going to try the screenplay/outline experiment– that is, if I ever get the one I’m working on finished!

Leave a Reply

Singing Stars & Shrieking Shadows

Stories and poetry of awe and horror, with reviews and commentary

Nicky Peacock - Author

Published author of YA and adult paranormal romance, horror, urban fantasy short stories, novellas and novels. On this site you'll find writing advice, information on my work, book reviews, author interviews and more...

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

SouthernHerf

it's all just a matter of perspective...

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Knite Writes

The Official Blog of Therin Knite

Buried Under Books

Tales of a former indie bookseller

Mary Robinette Kowal

The daily journal of a puppeteer and SF author.

Renea Mason

Visit http://reneamason.com for the latest info on Renea Mason

Words, Words, Words

Come write, and be inspired...

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Eat, Sleep, Television

Watch as I amaze and astound with opinions about what TV shows I like!

tincantheory

ull new transflations -- Rosetta Stone hypothoses

