Skip to content

Diss me, bloggers, for I have sinned

February 22, 2015

Confessio:

"Rembrandt Harmensz van Rijn - Return of the Prodigal Son - Google Art Project" by Rembrandt - 5QFIEhic3owZ-A at Google Cultural Institute, zoom level maximum. Licensed under Public Domain via Wikimedia Commons - http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Rembrandt_Harmensz_van_Rijn_-_Return_of_the_Prodigal_Son_-_Google_Art_Project.jpg#mediaviewer/File:Rembrandt_Harmensz_van_Rijn_-_Return_of_the_Prodigal_Son_-_Google_Art_Project.jpg

Return of the Prodigal Son, for those of you with an allegorical bent

It has been four months since I last read a published novel.

I have re-read parts of old favorites. I have read novels (and one screenplay) from members of my writer’s group, Writers Under the Arch. I have read articles in this or that periodical, graphic novels, and swaths of The Devil’s Dictionary. I have consumed–read implies more attention than I gave them–far too many posts, shares, and comments in social media.

But the man who more than once railed here and elsewhere against the phenomenon of writers who don’t read? I stopped reading new stuff in October.

Part of the reason was (as I noted here) the FIRST Lego League team I coached, which sucked an amazing amount of goody out of my brain. I don’t regret that, mind you! The balance of payments from that time, as it were, is very much on the positive side. And that only takes me through mid-December at most. After all, I was writing again by the end of the month.

So why wasn’t I reading?

I mean, I was still buying books. I have six now in my Kobo library, some patiently awaiting my attention, others leering at me with the mocking expressions only electronic versions of jacket covers can muster: Anne Leckie’s Ancillary Sword (my last book before the interlectum) , the most recent “Riddle in Stone” book from Robert Evert, the last two books of Simmons’ “Hyperion Cantos”, and Valente’s The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making. Oh, and The Masked Songbird, by my fellow QueryTracker alum Emmie Mears, which I bought when it came out and which promptly disappeared from my library for months. At least it’s back.

I bought a copy of my friend Trey Dowell’s The Protectors when it came out, though it would technically count as a re-read, since I read it when it came through WUTA. I bought the first two books in Chuck Wendig’s “Blightborn” series as an Xmas present for my nephew, which reminded me I’ve been meaning to read them.

So why haven’t I read any of them?

It’s not like I’ve been oddly busy. I’ve had free time, which I’ve apportioned to less literary pursuits, such as 3D printing (which reminds me, I need to buy some PET tape), and playing Magic: the Gathering with my son (which reminds me, I need to track down a few Spellheart Chimera to try out that new deck). Planning a vacation, planning summer activities for the aforementioned boy, taxes…

No. I’ve dealt with distractions, essential and trivial, before and still fit in reading. It’s not a huge time sink–I can blow through a couple of pages a minute if it’s not Faulkner or Joyce–but I have to think of it. Or perhaps, I have to want to think of it. Or perhaps (and the smart money’s on this one) I have to not have to think about it, but rather simply do it from habit. The way I have since I was a kid.

Old habits are easy to fall back into, right?

And I can make the habit easier to re-establish. The tablet can live by the bedside. I can set an alarm to remind me to go to bed a little earlier, so I don’t simply switch from being grumpy about not reading to being grumpy about not sleeping (trust me, the latter is worse).

I can slap a novel in my Currently Reading bit, thus:

Currently Reading: The Masked Songbird, Emmie Mears

so I feel guilty if I’m NOT reading it.

But mostly–I can stop dwelling on possible causes and just read.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Singing Stars & Shrieking Shadows

Stories and poetry of awe and horror, with reviews and commentary

Nicky Peacock - Author

Published author of YA and adult paranormal romance, horror, urban fantasy short stories, novellas and novels. On this site you'll find writing advice, information on my work, book reviews, author interviews and more...

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

SouthernHerf

it's all just a matter of perspective...

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Knite Writes

The Official Blog of Therin Knite

Buried Under Books

Tales of a former indie bookseller

Mary Robinette Kowal

The daily journal of a puppeteer and SF author.

Renea Mason

Author of Contemporary and Paranormal Erotic Romance Books - Love Undefined

Words, Words, Words

Write, read, repeat.

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Eat, Sleep, Television

Watch as I amaze and astound with opinions about what TV shows I like!

tincantheory

ull new transflations -- Rosetta Stone hypothoses

