Skip to content

The Joy of Editing

December 3, 2015

Don’t adjust your display, that’s really what the title says.

tool-210385_1920

Editing?

I was up until 1:45 in the morning because I was on a serious roll with edits to the Cover Crop screenplay. After mulling over the need to tighten pacing in the first twenty-something pages for a couple of weeks (thank you, Save the Cat!) I guess I had some idea of what needed to go, and it went. What was a break to Act Two at p. 23 is now…let me check…on p. 19. I actually have a little room in which to add a needed exchange between characters. Whew.

jackhammer-91101_640

Editing?

But I’m not writing this to give you details of how I spent the wee hours. Most writers who talk about editing do so in the context of actual, you know, writing, and it tends to suffer in comparison. And I won’t lie, even the most effective and productive editing session isn’t fun the way an inspired few hours of flinging things onto the page can be.

demolition-855079_640

Editing?

At its best–and I’ve experienced this several times now–writing approaches an out-of-body experience. You begin to understand why people believed in muses. Something in your head pushing the words out, and you’re just along for the ride.  The rush of creation stands alone. And yet…

Warning: Squick Ahead. I can only describe the way a session like last night’s made me feel in less-than-attractive biological terms: scratching an itch, or lancing a boil, or… I will stop RIGHT there because you people can extrapolate without my help. The activity itself may not have been fun, but I felt soooooo much better when I was done.

nuclear-weapons-test-67557_640

Editing?

More than mere relief, it’s a deep, viscerally satisfying sense of having made something intimately connected to you that was wrong right. I feel more like a “real” writer after going through that kind of editing session than I do even after the most exhilarating days of writing.

Unless it was just the ouzo.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Singing Stars & Shrieking Shadows

Stories and poetry of awe and horror, with reviews and commentary

Nicky Peacock - Author

Published author of YA and adult paranormal romance, horror, urban fantasy short stories, novellas and novels. On this site you'll find writing advice, information on my work, book reviews, author interviews and more...

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

SouthernHerf

it's all just a matter of perspective...

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Knite Writes

The Official Blog of Therin Knite

Buried Under Books

Tales of a former indie bookseller

Mary Robinette Kowal

The daily journal of a puppeteer and SF author.

Renea Mason

Author of Contemporary and Paranormal Erotic Romance Books - Love Undefined

Words, Words, Words

Write, read, repeat.

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Eat, Sleep, Television

Watch as I amaze and astound with opinions about what TV shows I like!

tincantheory

ull new transflations -- Rosetta Stone hypothoses

