Skip to content

My unconscious kicks serious butt

May 6, 2016

By Created by Uwe Kils (iceberg) and User:Wiska Bodo (sky). [GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html) or CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/)], via Wikimedia Commons

My unconscious may also present a hazard to shipping during the winter months.

Last night, I expressed a bit of anxiety to my lovely wife concerning the current state of my storytelling career. It’s not a lack of activity, mind you. Right now I have:

a) my agent reading my middle-grade novel

b) the screenplay version of that novel entered in a number of contests, after winning or being a finalist in a dozen or so.

c) another screenplay entered in more contests

d) a TV pilot entered in a contest

e) a screenplay ready to go to a mentor I’ll be working with for six months

f) other projects in other places

So it’s not like I’m slacking off. Except I have been feeling like I am, in fact, slacking off, because all of the above are versions of existing work, anywhere from a year to five years old, that I either rewrote, repackaged, or otherwise reconstrued.

I didn’t have a new idea in the works, and that bothered me.

It evidently bothered me a lot, because right before I woke up this morning I had a Grade-A cinematic nightmare. We’re talking full-fledged horror plot with five ironic reversals, four well-defined characters, three supremely creepy visuals, two zombie French Hens and a partridge being eaten by a combination pear tree and Venus Flytrap.

Okay, I made the last two up. But still. I recall enough to outline it. I could probably write a half-dozen scenes from it right now.

So, fellow writers and other creative types, if you ever feel like you’re running on empty, eat something vile, or turn the heat up a little too high, or do whatever it takes to make your brain go apeshit in REM. What’s the worst that can happen?*

*–Note: the author assumes no liability for nor implies any warranty against something much worse happening.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Singing Stars & Shrieking Shadows

Stories and poetry of awe and horror, with reviews and commentary

Nicky Peacock - Author

Published author of YA and adult paranormal romance, horror, urban fantasy short stories, novellas and novels. On this site you'll find writing advice, information on my work, book reviews, author interviews and more...

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

SouthernHerf

it's all just a matter of perspective...

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Knite Writes

The Official Blog of Therin Knite

Buried Under Books

Tales of a former indie bookseller

Mary Robinette Kowal

The daily journal of a puppeteer and SF author.

Renea Mason

Author of Contemporary and Paranormal Erotic Romance Books - Love Undefined

Words, Words, Words

Write, read, repeat.

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Eat, Sleep, Television

Watch as I amaze and astound with opinions about what TV shows I like!

tincantheory

ull new transflations -- Rosetta Stone hypothoses

